Border Crossed (almost)

This is it. Semester 2 of my first year at DJCAD is nearly over. I almost can’t believe it.

The first half of this Border Crossings project asked us to pick an aspect of our identities and use it as inspiration. I had a bit of trouble with this, but eventually settled on traditional crafts, mainly knitting and origami. These are things that I find very therapeutic – I like the repetitive nature of these crafts and I really enjoy that you can follow a set of instructions and come away with one defined outcome. The second part of the project asked us to research an aspect of Slovenian culture to take inspiration from. Živa, a Slovenian student I was grouped with, pointed me in the direction of  Idrija lace, which is native to the Idrija region of Slovenia and dates back to the 16th century. The lace is really beautiful, and often full of traditional motifs.
I have found this project very challenging, but nevertheless here’s a wee look at my final presentation boards.

Project 1 and 2:

Project 3:

Feel free to click the images to see them bigger, and please let me know what you think!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Hannah

I'm Hannah, a twenty-something-year-old textile design student from Scotland. I'm learning a lot, and I want to learn more.

Leave a Reply

