Design in the Market

I have recently begun a new module at uni called Design & the Market, which aims to “introduce students to enterprise culture and terminology and to place the practice of design within a business context.” It all sounds very clever and like a bit of hard work, but so far our lectures have been pretty interesting. We’ve been told some really interesting things about how the world of work and design is progressing. It’s a scary thought, really, that in a year and a half I’ll be finished with uni and in the real, grown-up world. One of the things that has stuck with me from the first DitM lecture is the saying “make a job, don’t take a job”. It’s going to be down to us to create our own futures, our own careers; the top ten jobs that will be in demand in 2015 didn’t even exist in 2005!

I would really like to use this module to work on personal branding as this isn’t really something I’ve thought about. Last year I learned a bit about branding and identity, and we were shown some tools to help us to define ourselves and our target market, and I’m really looking forward to figuring out who I am.

Tags: , ,

About Hannah

I'm Hannah, a twenty-something-year-old textile design student from Scotland. I'm learning a lot, and I want to learn more.

Leave a Reply

